Review: The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, by David Wroblewski

I read this book for my book club but did not finish it. This is the author’s first and so far only book and it received uniformly glowing reviews from many sources as well as being an Oprah Book Club book. Unfortunately this one was not my cup of tea. Set in remote northern Wisconsin, the book has a plot modeled on Shakespeare’s Hamlet with a lot on dogs, dog training and dog breeding thrown in. Edgar, the main character is mute and uses sign language which one of my book club members thought was an unnecessary plot device. Try it for yourself and see if you think I missed the boat on this one.

RATING: * * OK

Reviewed by: kh

Check our catalog

Comments Off on Review: The Story of Edgar Sawtelle, by David Wroblewski

Filed under General Fiction, Staff Picks

Comments are closed.