Review: The Bookman’s Tale: A Novel of Obsession, by Charlie Lovett

Part rare book mystery, part love story, this is a fun, lighter read for fans of Possession or Shadow of the Wind. The historical side of the mystery is the more interesting part. Peter Byerly, an antiquarian bookseller, moves to rural England following the death of his wife, and finds an old portrait resembling her. Researching the portrait’s origins leads him to a book that might prove Shakespeare was, indeed, the author of all his plays. But is the book a forgery?

RATING: * * *  A good read

Check our catalog

Reviewed by: stc

Advertisements

Comments Off on Review: The Bookman’s Tale: A Novel of Obsession, by Charlie Lovett

Filed under Historical Fiction, Staff Picks

Comments are closed.