Read/Watch Alike: Modern Lovers + While We’re Young

If you liked this book, try this movie/If you liked this movie, try this book!
modern lovers (1)

Read Modern Lovers by Emma Straub because: it shrewdly captures modern adulthood in gentrified Brooklyn. The book follows a close-knit group of Oberlin alums as they stumble through parenthood, entrepreneurship, and self-discovery well beyond young adulthood…and because it reads as fast as popcorn.  Read-alike: They May Not Mean To, But They Do by Cathleen Schine

Watch While We’re Young because: Ben Stiller and Naomi Watts play a couple verging on middle age who attempt to reproduce their youth by latching on to painfully hip Brooklynites played by Adam Driver and Amanda Seyfried. Watch-alike: Togetherness: The Complete First Season

What you will find in both: mid-life crises, kombucha, and progressive schools.

Advertisements

Comments Off on Read/Watch Alike: Modern Lovers + While We’re Young

Filed under General Fiction, Reader Resources, Staff Picks

Comments are closed.